People produce more waste today than in the past. Why is it happening? What can be done to solve this problem?

In present times, the human population is incrementing over the globe at a very fast pace, resulting in an elevated amount of waste and garbage. This essay intends to analyse why this waste production is more these days as compared to the past and what can be done to tackle this issue. To begin with, with the advent of technology and the industrial revolution, people have started using things manufactured with plastic. Similarly, many authorities still lack certain systems to manage all the garbage they collect from cities. For example, Lahore, which is one of the most populated cities in Pakistan does not have a waste-disposal department, therefore, we could see various areas with piled-up garbage. Hence, excessive consumption of non-degradable stuff by the public and their ineffective dumping by the government have caused this problem. In order to solve this issue, people have to change their entire lifestyles. Moreover, they have to utilize environmental-friendly shopping bags and other things made with biodegradable materials. For instance, many shops provide shopping bags made of paper and they avoid plastic. Furthermore, awareness should be spread in societies so that they realise its consequences and detrimental effects. Therefore, the public should be educated about how to reuse common household things so that they do not throw everything into the dustbins. To sum up, the subject of lack of awareness about the harmful effects of wasting non-biodegradable products and the state's incompetency in disposing of that garbage can be undone by educating the communities and promoting stuff made with safe material. It is predicted that in the next few years, some countries will be very tidy just by limiting their use of plastic.