Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe that there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

An idea emphasises that longer-term imprisonment is the most comprehensive way to deal with the rising crime rate. This essay will analyse the impact of this method on society and discuss other possible approaches to crime prevention. On the one hand, placing offenders in prison for extended periods has several advantages. Firstly, some believe that incarceration discourages other criminal behaviours. Specifically, prison time allows defendants to participate in rehabilitation programs such as psychological treatment, drug and alcohol interventions and job-based training campaigns, which aim to prevent reoffending likelihoods. Moreover, a long charge of a felony, for example, assassination, hijacking, kidnapping, robbery and trafficking, helps to isolate the most dangerous criminals from the rest of the outside world, minimise imminent threats and establish a crime-resistant society. On the other hand, some argue that a prolonged jail sentence means an increased opportunity for all prisoners to stay with each other, which does not facilitate them to understand and correct problematic behaviours. Otherwise, governments and local authorities should consider some initiatives to aid offenders after release. For instance, to assist prisoners in remaining crime-free and settling in their communities, supporting organisations should help them find stable accommodations, create job vacancies and improve their skills and knowledge through education and training. Additionally, it is essential to foster communication by providing counselling services, which motivates inmates to think positively and decreases the feeling of isolation that may lead to other severe issues such as depression, anxiety, substance abuse and suicide. In conclusion, there are good arguments for and against long sentences. Each country should seek various crime reduction methods to ensure all policies are effective.