Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the present day, the development of technology especially in the information and communication fields is undeniable. Everyone from different ages and statuses including children already owns a smartphone or other communication devices because it is likely to be less expensive nowadays. The COVID-19 pandemic that happened at the end of 2019 also made a significant culture in society such as work from anywhere and online classes for students. Some people believe that this development has a negative impact as it could decrease real-life interaction and increase smartphone addiction. But in my opinion, this phenomenon has a bigger positive impact. In this essay, I will elaborate on the issue and also depict my point of view. First of all, the main advantage of the online culture are the effectiveness of time. With work-from-home and online classes for students, people do not need to commute daily and can use their time for other activities such as exercising or reading to maintain their health. Secondly, with fewer people needing to commute, fewer vehicles will swarm across the city, and it leads to a decrease in air pollution and increase in the air quality in the city. Additionally, working from home can improve people not only physically, but also mentally because they can have more spare time to spend with themselves and also with family and friends. In conclusion, although this online culture also has disadvantages such as lowering people's skills to socialize and have face-to-face interaction, the benefits outweigh the disadvantages if we can balance online and offline interaction, and be responsible with our tasks and work.