Individual greed and selfishness have been the basis of modern society. Some people think that we must return to the older and more traditional values of respect for the family and the local community in order to create a better world to live in, To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned that the foundation of society has been personal greed and selfishness. Some people state that we should restore the morals and values of tradition in the past including the behavior of the young generation with their parents as well as ancestors, and the attitudes of individuals toward the public. This change can lead to a better community. I am inclined to agree with this assertion. To begin with, it is obvious that we are living in a world where people tend to have materialism in their life. This means that individuals only focus on their egoism. as well as something which can maximize their profits. As a result, they are indifferent to everyone around ranging from their families, and relatives and they will lose a significantly large number of their relationships. This is because the present relationships have a lot of financial burdens and they always desire to find a high-level social status that receives respect from others. In addition, in this day and age, parents have a heavy workload in enterprises. So they do not have enough time to take care of their children and make strengthen family relationships. On the other hand, in the past, everyone attaches much importance to morals and values, standard behavior awareness of children to adults, and individuals to society. Moreover, children were nurtured as a token of love from families, and protection from their kiths and kin. Besides, when they were born, they received a lot of valuable lessons that they had to keep and maintain traditional values from ancient times. For example, my parents said that when they were young, my grandparents taught them to visit their ancestors, one of the popular traditions every Tet holiday in order to filial piety as well as respect for the birth and deceased ancestors. In conclusion, we should retain the valuable moral traditions of our ancestors in the past and minimize the dominance of selfishness and materialism in our life. By doing so we can make sure that the next generation will have a better life that is not only modern with progressive technology but also fulfills affection and gratitude.