In today’s world, private companies rather than the government pay for and conduct most scientific research. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, private organizations are paying for and conducting more scientific studies instead of the government. I hold the view that this practice has more benefits than its drawbacks. One of the main negatives of firms ' research is that it may be on a specific topic. They may have a limited spectrum on which they can work because they are operating in a particular field and only want to get results which are related to their core operations. Another disadvantage is that the revenues of companies may get affected. Comprehensive research sometimes requires a large amount of investment to carry out. This is because it includes the travelling expenses to collect responses, the cost of making prototypes and even the need to pay responders as well to get their genuine feedback. In spite of having some disadvantages, there are more advantages to this development. First and foremost, private research creates employment opportunities because these firms need human resources who can help these firms to work for them. Therefore, they are hired or paid by employers, resulting in creating job vacancies. Furthermore, restricting an investigation to a small scale can produce more authentic results. For example, research on consumer behaviour was conducted by one of the telecommunication companies, Zong, in 2005, which was limited to only 50 participants instead of having a large group, and was able to produce more accurate outcomes as compared to the public study. Moreover, this development allows private organizations to improve their operations. In order words, if they are encouraged to investigate more and spend their own money, they are highly like to develop their purposes and how they can serve society more effectively by addressing their existing issues. To illustrate, one of the giant companies, Unilever, has not only improved its operational efficiency but also its reputation by conducting more scientific research in different fields. In conclusion, private firms are investing and exploring more scientific topics as compared to the government. I think the benefits of this development outweigh its drawbacks.