In order to solve traffic problems, government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

The last decade has seen a tremendous increase in the number of private cars running on the roads. Many people suggest that the government should increase the excise duty on private car owners and the revenue thus generated shall be used for the betterment of public transportation. Such a measure can have some positive impact in form of the reduction of private cars on the road, but simultaneously it can deal a serious blow to the automobile industry. Both have been discussed below. Firstly looking at the advantage if the government starts to collect heavy taxes from the public that owns personal cars; this will lead to a reduction in the number of cars running on the road, as it will be difficult to maintain the private vehicles which will force the people to use much cheaper means. The traffic conditions will improve with such a drop in private vehicles on the road. For instance, in 2002, the government of the state of West Bengal decided to increase the registration tax to 20%, which resulted in a record 30% drop in the ownership of private vehicles. Therefore, it proves that such heavy taxation would lead to better traffic conditions, however it will have some damaging effects as well. The imposition of higher tax rates will cause a serious drop in the number of sales of private cars. In fear of high maintenance expenses, there will be a lesser number of people who will prefer owning an automobile. The drop in sales would force the company to downsize in order to compensate for the losses. For example Jaguar, a car brand couldn't sell its cars in India due to heavy tax imposed by the government which eventually lead to the shutdown of the company leaving hundreds of workers unemployed. Thus the better traffic conditions in such a way will leave many jobless. To summarise, on one hand taxation can improve traffic conditions but it will also snatch means to earn bread from someone