Crime rate, in most countries, is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas. Why do you think that is? What can be done to reduce the crime rate?

Some people believe that they can see a greater tendency of defendants to commit an offence in metropolitan cities rather than in small towns and villages. This essay will discuss possible reasons for this phenomenon and analyse several interventions for rising crime. An increasing unemployment rate can be a crucial factor leading to many criminals in larger cities. Specifically, countryside dwellers often find it quite challenging to have stable jobs in their hometowns, significantly encouraging a surge in rural-to-urban migrations. However, some may have unsuccessful settlements due to a lack of educational attainment, working skills and language proficiency, directly driving various difficulties for these migrants in the labour market. Consequently, being persistently out of the workforce along with poverty makes people struggle to cover necessities such as adequate healthcare, food and accommodations, which can trigger numerous issues, for example, domestic violence, abduction, robbery, substance abuse and trafficking. Moreover, inner cities include more material elements like mansions, high-end stores and luxury automobiles that violent felons may target. Crime prevention and reduction are always at the top of every government’s agenda. First, installing surveillance cameras is a cost-effective method to deter delinquency, improve public safety and boost citizens’ sense of security. Korea, Japan, Germany, and Australia have witnessed a remarkable drop in lawbreaking activities thanks to their close-circuit television (CCTV) systems in locations such as supermarkets, parks, libraries, banks and train stations. Additionally, governments should consider more prolonged jail sentences to discourage criminal behaviours, minimise imminent threats and create a crime-resistant society. To sum up, the complex features of urbanisation may exacerbate misconduct behaviours in these densely populated areas. Each country should seek various methods to ensure all policies are practical in reducing the crime rate.