Many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smartphone what do you think are the reasons for this? do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, people spend a large portion of their time using smartphones. this is because phones are very addictive and offer constant news and entertainment to keep users engaged. In my opinion, this development can have a very negative impact on people's lives. One of the main reasons for people's continues use of their phones is social media networks. these networks focus mainly on keeping users engaged so that they can make more money from ads. The more time you spend on their platform the more ads you see. For example, on Youtube, after you finish watching a video, they will show you even more videos so that you continue to watch and see more ads. In addition, these networks are using AI to predict what will make your stay based on your history so the more you watch, the more they will understand your interest and predict what will make you watch more. This is why social media networks are making some people very addicted to smartphones. Another reason is video games. Smartphones these days are very powerful. they can run a variety of video games that encourage addiction by keeping players engaged with constant gifts and items. Some games are using AI as well to play with the user and allow him to win so that he feels good about himself and keeps playing. Furthermore, these games are adding text and voice so you can chat with friends and family to keep you even more invested in the game. On top of that, games in smartphones are very easy to access which makes them even more addictive. This addiction can have a very negative effect on your life if you don't control it. For instance, if you had an exam or homework, the smartphone could make you waste hours before noticing that time had past and without making the most of it. Moreover, constant usage of smartphones is very negative if they distract you from physical activities like going outside and enjoying nature. In some,cases this could lead to depression. Also, smartphones are very well known to be harmful to the eyes if used for long periods of time. This is why constant usage of smartphones can be very harmful. In summary, people's addicting to smartphones is the result of technological improvements in social media platforms and video games. this addiction has many drawbacks to any individual's life. We must work and learn how to control our usage to mitigate these disadvantages.