Some people advocate the death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society.Describe the advantages and disadvantages of the death penalty and give your opinion.

It is irrefutable that one must be punished for any crimes one commits. While some believe that the death penalty is the right way to punish violent crimes, others argue that this is not acceptable in the contemporary world. In this essay, I will discuss the positive and negative sides of the death sentence. To begin with, it is easier to have the population and crime rate in control if the fines or penalty for breaking a law is high. Furthermore, there are fewer chances of the population committing the same when it may end up in execution. To exemplify, the fine for jumping a traffic light in India is $2, while the same in Canada is $100. Hence, if the outcome of a serious crime is death everyone will fear doing anything illegal, thus the crime rate will be low in the region. On the other hand, it is difficult to decide whether a human life should be taken for a particular crime or not. To illustrate further, giving a death sentence for a car accident where someone was killed should not end up in the death penalty. Therefore, there is a different breadth of crimes that involves blood and death; but it is up to the judicial system to define the outcome of the crime. However, only in extreme cases, capital punishment should be the solution. In a nutshell, fines and penalties for illegal activities should be there, but not to the extreme to take a human life. In my opinion, the death penalty is an extreme case, and should only be confined to a few percentages of the decisions.