Some people think that students in high or secondary school can choose courses freely, others think that courses such as mathematics must be compulsory. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are many subjects at school that students can study. Some individuals think that students in high or secondary school can freely choose any classes they want, whereas others argue that subjects like math must be compulsory. In this essay, I will look at both views and explain why optional and compulsory courses are both advantageous. Learning is a freedom. It means that students can opt to study subjects they like and drop the subject they do not like. This is because school should be a place to maximise their existing academic potential and should not pressure them to learn every course. For example, subjects like arts and physical education usually attract those who have already set a study plan prior to their school since they possess related talents that are longing to be developed. Furthermore, learning an undesired class will only put students under pressure and will not effectively improve their academic achievement. On the other hand, compulsory courses are needed for one's future survival. Indeed, some pupils might not feel the need to study subjects like math and science. However, they should be urged to learn them as they are needed on a daily basis. There are activities that require calculation such as trading and accounting. Those types of activities will not execute properly if people do not learn basic lessons at school. Therefore, institutions should promote the necessary courses to students. To sum up, there is a conflicting idea about whether courses at school should be optional or obligatory. Freedom to choose courses will optimise academic development while compulsory subjects will help people on a daily basis. Thus, I opine that giving freedom to take any lesson and requiring scholars to learn essential subjects are the best way forward.