The main purpose of public libraries should be to provide books. Public libraries should not spend their limited resources on computer software, videos, or DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that public libraries should only have a diversity of books and do not need to take care about providing software applications, videos and other facilities. I do not agree with this statement. In this essay, I plan to explore a few thoughts of mine about this phenomenon. Firstly, the immediate picture that comes to our mind when we talk about libraries is numerous rows of shelves with a plethora of books. Those who regularly use libraries know that it is challenging to find a particular book among others. For example, this was the case during my student days, and, in a number of cases, it took a long time to find what I needed to prepare for my exams. Needless to say, with the development of technology it becomes easier to seek materials not only inside a reading room but also in a whole network of libraries. Obviously, it is beneficiary for them due to attracting more readers, hence, I am convinced that such institutions should provide modern means such as computer applications and platforms for more convenient manipulations of the required information. Secondly, if it is not affordable for libraries to buy new equipment, they could find sponsors and funding that will help them to tackle predicaments. For instance, the state university in my country has a huge collection of books and materials and, after attracting external capital, it opened several new well-equipped rooms where there are numerous readers not only students but also other people. In conclusion, despite the financial constraints that libraries may face when purchasing modern equipment other than books, I still believe that it is extremely important to keep pace with technological developments and provide the necessary facilities to users.