Some people think that best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Other however believe that there are other alternatives ways of reducing crime. Discuss your opinion?

The crime rate is increasing day by day around the world due to various reasons. Some people believe that this can be reduced by giving longer prison sentences whilst others think that there should be other alternative ways to minimise this matter in society. This essay will discuss both viewpoints with adequate examples and my own opinion will be provided at the end. To commence with, keeping the accused in jail long time for some crowd who have been involved in criminal activities for the first time due to a particular reason which can be justified. For example, a person who has been guilty of a theft because of his or her economic problems or someone who has killed accidentally another to protect their loved ones should be given a chance to correct their mistakes in their life. Furthermore, a proper rehabilitation programme can be conducted for those types of accused not to do a crime again. Accordingly, giving a guilty verdict of long term in jail is not suitable for everyone who has conducted a fault. On the other hand, there are some prisoners who could not be rehabilitated and must be separated from society as well as from other normal prisoners because releasing them to society may be the worst judgement ever. For instance, some people tend to conduct themselves again crimes of the same type even socialisation after proper rehabilitation and often do not want to give up their bad habits. Therefore, it is essential to give sentences of long terms in prison to whom a person breaks the law again and again. To conclude, finding roots for the action and then giving judgement is the better way as most judgements happen. And also, allowing someone to rehabilitate for justifiable crimes may cause them to become a useful citizen. However, crazy dogs must be in cages.