Some people think that governments should do more to make their citizens eat a healthy diet. Others believe that individuals must take responsibility for their own diet. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Food has always been crucial to mankind. Humans would not survive without it. Nowadays, more and more people are pursuing healthier eating habits. But it is hard to stay away from various tempting options. So should the government or individuals take responsibility for this issue that has been put on the table. In my opinion, I suggest that both groups share equal responsibilities for a healthy diet. Unlike the time when food shortage was a problem, inhabitants are now facing multiple choices. What to purchase and eat is totally up to the person. In other words, individuals are fully responsible for their decisions. For example, when shopping in a supermarket, one should pay attention to nutrition instead of the prices on the packages. When dining out at restaurants, cleanliness and food quality should be accounted for important factors. Anyway, the point is that citizens should always raise their awareness to stay fit in today’s world. Of course, there are too many temptations on the market. This is where and when the government should play its role to ensure food safety for the public. For instance, the government should establish laws to monitor food production and distribution, and consumption. Furthermore, higher tax regulations should be placed on unhealthy food. There would be less junk food on the shelves so fewer people would have the chance to purchase them. To sum up, in order to live a healthy life, I believe both residents and the government have to make their own efforts. It is not easy to say which party should do more than the other.