Many cities are now turning parks and farmland into new housing developments. Is this a positive or negative development?

It’s true that there are initiatives from cities to transform public parks and farms into residential areas. In my opinion, I am in complete disagreement with this contention despite the ostensible advantages in dense urban areas. Those who argue this policy is positive, point out its effects on overcrowding in cities. In the last century, migrations rose significantly in urban areas which caused a numerous density in the number of citizens. And one of the best solutions for this is to enlarge the size of the city by exploiting other lands such as gardens and farmlands. Meanwhile, some cities such as Tokyo and Mexico tend to use more sophisticated approaches to deal with the surging population capacity of designated restricts by spreading to neighbouring lands. Consequently, individuals are able to live in cities and enjoy higher standards of living, better healthcare, improved economic opportunities, and various entertainment options. For the average resident, such development is incontestably positive. However, new housing developments should not take precedence over human fundamental priorities. Firstly, turning gardens and farmlands to build new houses not only deprive the residents of recreation and natural lands but also necessitates the transportation of agricultural products from greater distances. And the worst-case scenario is to exacerbate environmental issues and potentially lead to inflated food costs for the average person. Secondly, cities that lack parks is not providing an optimal living environment for society members. For,affluents this is less pressing since they may be able to make frequent trips to outlying areas all over the world. Whereas for the least privileged classes parks are considerably their only opportunity to experience nature and replenish themselves. in conclusion, regardless of the positives related to population density in cities, it is negative in the aggregate due to its effect on the natural environment and quality of life in cities. Such proposals should therefore be pursued in moderation.