Some people think that the increase use of computers and mobile phone in interactions has negative effects on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In today’s technology-focused world in which electric equipment such as computers and cell phones play a crucial role in communication, some people hold the view that this mechanism adversely affects the literacy of the young. I side with this notion since youngsters are busy with these platforms and spend little time on their assignments which I will explain in detail as follow: The reason why such equipment affects the reading and writing ability of young people in a negative way is that the possibility of installing a myriad of breathtaking applications on such platforms, the youths gravitate towards them all the time; therefore, they lose their tendency to read books; hence, their reading skill will be declined. Besides, the entertaining features of video games, social networking websites and applications such as Instagram, Telegram and so on turn the youths into ones who are just good listeners and viewers but unable in writing skills. To illustrate, when I was an English teacher, some of my students had a good grasp of listening and speaking skills as they followed foreign actors and singers in addition to watching their videos on their cellphones. However, they had difficulty in spelling because rarely did they did their homework on paper. In conclusion, although cell phones and computers provide a large number of opportunities for people all over the world, their negative effects on the literacy of the young are undeniable. Spending hours working with these platforms, make them distract from their lessons and weaken their literacy performance.