Longer life spans and improvements in the health of older people suggest that people over the age of sixty-five can continue to live full and active lives. In what step can society benefit from the contribution that older people can make?

Technological advancement nowadays has given people a longer life span. It is said that folk in their 60 years and older can still live a productive and meaningful life. This essay will discuss the advantages the elderly population can bring to our society. There are many ways in which the older generation could be beneficial, firstly, they can be a valuable part of our community, and through the experiences and knowledge they have accumulated over the years, they could be a great leader, advisors, and teachers of younger generations. For, instance, my mother, a former kindergarten teacher, who is now in her 70s, organized a tree-planting event with her school alumni to promote environmental awareness among younger generations. In addition, technology has replaced handicraft activities to a great extent that the recent generations have no knowledge of knitting, sewing, clay potting, wood cravings and many more. This is slowly fading, and the elderly community can pass on these skills through workshops, and other similar activities. Finally, volunteering work can also be beneficial, the society could use as many hands as they could, especially in orphanages, aged homes, and peace and order, which at the same time could give them a purposeful life. In conclusion, the elderly population are a valuable asset to our society, they can contribute enormously to the good of communities, economically, politically, or environmentally, therefore they should continue to work on whatever it is that they are passionate about for as long as they could.