In some countries, governments provide payments for unemployed people. How does this impact people? Is this a positive or negative development?

In some countries, the government offers unemployment payments to their residents. In this essay, I will discuss the impacts of financial assistance on society, then I will further elaborate on the reasons why I argue that this is a negative development. To begin with, the welfare program is designed to provide support for those who are in need. Although, the intention of income assistance is to make sure people are taken care of, and to provide a sense of comfort. With that being said, some people get used to receiving monthly payments from the government and lose their motivation to look for jobs. For instance, the dollar amount that some receive from government support payments is higher than their average pay. Thus, they rather continue to receive unemployment checks rather than work. Indeed, it is important for the government to provide support for those who are in need. However, I feel that countries that provide unemployment support to residents could be a negative impact on their society. The welfare system will only work properly if there are boundaries and restrictions set, and this will prevent people from abusing the system. For example, there should be a limitation on either timeframe or dollar value each person is allowed to collect in 3 years. To conclude, the purpose of a country to provide financial assistance is to ensure its residents are well looked after and to encourage them to get back on their feet. Moreover, I believe that providing support with limited restrictions, allows people to feel comfortable. This is a negative impact on society, in the long run.