In the past, teachers were the primary source of knowledge. Yet, nowadays, students have a vast source of information, so teachers are no longer necessary in current education. Do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly argued that students nowadays no longer need teachers as their primary source of information. I strongly disagree with this viewpoint, as I believe that teachers are still needed even though there is knowledge everywhere. First of all, human contact is necessary for learning because learning is typically a social event. There are very few people who can learn wholly alone. Teachers and peers give us social support and feedback that allows people to study more effectively. For example, anyone who has been studying an online course will tell you that it takes them longer to complete a project. They miss the natural interaction of having a teacher face-to-face to get immediate feedback. Furthermore, if you ask many experts in their field, they would say they become interested in a subject because of an initial teacher who made the topic interesting. Perhaps, students would be able to pursue the subject alone, but it was the initial person that sparked their love of an academic area. For instance, a student wouldn't be interested in such a boring Physics subject if it was not because of his teacher who explained the lessons so lively and demonstrated the laws of physics in such a dynamic way. While there is no question that knowledge is free and can be obtained anywhere, however, there are certain courses like medical courses, for example, that need the guidance of a teacher for him to be able to fully comprehend and obtain the skills needed. In conclusion, I do not agree that teachers are no longer needed by students. In my opinion, there is no substitute for real-time feedback from a teacher. Thus, we should be grateful to our teachers for making us achieve our goals and aspirations in life.