Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries?

Nowadays the lack of medical supplies is still founded in many third -world countries, leading to too many deads even from curable diseases. Some believe that pharmaceutical companies should decrease prices in those countries. From my perspective, I do believe that drug companies solely cannot give many discounts to support developing countries. Thus, another support from related parties is required which I will explain in more detail in this essay. To begin with, it is an undeniable truth that many drug companies have a lot of profit as shown in yearly profit and loss reports. For this reason, some people think that it is possible to lower the prices of medicines to be affordable for everyone, including in developing countries. However, as we live in a capitalist world, drug companies cannot offer those lower prices as they need to maintain their profit and secure some budget for research on new pills. However, I still believe that people in third -world countries still have the opportunity to access more common drugs through the strong cooperation between many parties such as drug companies, governments, charities and NGOs. Firstly, many drugs in poor countries are mostly imported from developed countries thus the governments on both sides should issue laws or policies to support import and export taxes for medical products to reduce the operation costs of the drug companies. Moreover, the United Nations and NGOs should involve in medicine distribution in poor countries to reduce transportation costs and they also should help subsidize some drug costs. To conclude, with all reasons taken into account, I strongly believe that people should be treated equally thus many drugs should be more accessible in poor countries. This will happen if those countries receive support from related parties because only pharmaceutical companies cannot provide massive discounts for them.