In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting universities. Discuss the advantages.

In recent times, some nations are motivating their youth to take a travel break or to gain some work experience before commencing higher studies. This approach could be highly advantageous as it would help youngsters in exploring new cultures, meet different people, understand the job market and choose an appropriate area of study that interests them to build their careers. In this essay, I shall be discussing the merits of this trend in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, this approach has several benefits associated with it. One of them is understanding and respecting different cultures. When high school pass outs start exploring different countries, they tend to meet new people with distinct traditions and learn something unique about them. In this way, youngsters can learn how to develop good bonds with individuals and respect them for their uniqueness. For instance, many secondary schools in Germany, encourage their students to travel across the world to get international exposure and learn new traditions. Moreover, when youngsters interact with people whom they don't know they start developing good communication skills and become open for conversations without hesitating. Secondly, motivating young minds to take some work experience is also a step in the right direction. Many students don't know in which domains should they pursue their higher education. Working for some time before entering into universities can immensely help youngsters identify which is the area of study that interests them and accordingly they can choose their career paths. Moreover, when high school pass outs start gaining some professional experience they even start making money and experience financial independence. As a result, students can take care of their own expenses and gain real-time experience in how job industries work. To cite an example, a plethora of colleges have observed that candidates who gain some work experience and start their education are more likely to excel in their studies and are capable of grabbing higher-paying jobs. To conclude, this trend of taking travel and work gaps before stepping into universities is a step in the correct direction as it has many evident advantages. This approach introduces young minds to different people and cultures, helps them in getting a better understanding of the job market and selects the best career path.