Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effects on social relationships. Do you agree or disagree?

The impact of technological developments has been a highly debatable issue in recent years. A lot of people hold the view that technologies have negatively changed various aspects of our lives, social relations being the most influenced. I personally only partially agree with this opinion and this essay will present arguments and examples supporting my opinion. To start with, the creation of state-of-the-art gadgets like computers, smartphones and iPads are ubiquitous and have helped to make our communication effortless. For instance, they allow us to easily meet and converse with colleagues from all over the world at international conferences, on online business forums and in social chatrooms. International teleconferences have become an integral part of professional routines. In addition, sophisticated applications like Facebook Messenger or WhatsApp enable us to remain connected with our families and friends, regardless of where they are and what is going on around them or us. And this has been vital, especially, in recent years when everyone has been isolated because of the restrictions related to Covid-19. Technologies helped people to preserve social interactions, which are crucial for maintaining our mental health. On the other hand, it is undeniable that dependence on contemporary technologies like computers has deteriorated relations to some extent. One obvious example is how many people prefer to do activities on their own and online instead of in-person interaction. Even though being and doing things on one’s own could be comfortable and convenient, at the same time it turns individuals into more socially awkward human beings with poorly developed people skills. And these skills are key to building relations and achieving success at work and in personal life. To conclude, although there are certain downsides, advanced technologies have been critical as have enhanced communication and helped us socialise efficiently in professional and personal contexts.