With the increasing use of mobile phones and computers, fewer people are writing letters. Some people think that the traditional skill of writing letters will disappear completely. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has become a new norm that people tend to communicate via digital channels. It is said that people will dis-continue writing letters in pen in the future. In my opinion, though sending messages on phones has some advantages, traditional writing would not easily disappear. It is true that digital communication is significantly efficient than exchanging physical letters. With the widespread use of the internet, a friend in Denmark could receive your greeting message from China in no time. However, efficiency is not the only factor on the success communication. There are many advantages that only can handwriting offer. To begin with, exchanging handwritten letters is considered as a strong bonding with loved ones. Studies show people tend to express emotions easier with real pen, thus sincere feeling can be better carried by physical letters. On the other hand, those letters are much more appreciated by receivers which boost the social connection even stronger. A telling story is receiving a handwritten Christmas card from a friend and it will no doubt make your day. Furthermore, writing with pen and paper has positive impact on people ’s health too. Many people reported a relief of stress and anxiety after writing a journal. In addition, various self-development research have suggested to keep a physical journal as a way of maintain mental health. Keeping a journal is just like writing daily letters to yourself, which is an active meditation. To conclude, writing letters with a pen has various benefits in terms of social communication as well as self-development. I believe it will not easily go away, and in fact, it should be encouraged among people particularly in this busy modern world.