Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individual and societies. To what extent do you agree?

There are people who are convinced that Facebook and other social site have a great negative effect on our society. I side with these believers because using these sites frequently is time-consuming and can lead to some feeling lonely and depressed; however, social networking sites are cheap and have connected many around, such as long-lost friends and families. To begin with, there are too many social networking sides, and a significant number of our population have access to them all. This means that society spends a considerable amount of time using these socials, leaving little or no time for other activities. In addition to that, people mainly post happy times or filtered pictures making others feel worthless, which then leads to them feeling lonely and depressed,especially youngsters. For instance, there is an increase in the number of teenagers with mental health issues which is associated with social networking sites, such as Facebook and Instagram. Saying that, since Facebook was established, the connection among each other never has been faster and cheaper. It only takes a mobile phone or a computer, and you find yourself communicating with others who might be living on the other side of the globe for a small amount of money, something that, less than two decades ago, was impossible. For example, in the past, those people who lived abroad used top-up mobile phones to communicate with their loved ones, which in addition to being expensive, often there was a poor connection, which made the whole experience inconvenient. In conclusion, I am in favour of the argument that social sites have had a negative impact on human lives, but I also, believe that has improved communication significantly. As long as one is able to discipline themselves and control the amount of time used on these socials, I think that we should continue to use them.