Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environment problems. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is undeniable that as the world's population keeps increasing, its inhabitants are faced with many environmental problems. While many believe that the extinction of certain plants and animal species is a more pressing issue, others argue that society is faced with more threatening problems. This essay will discuss these views and argue in favour of the latter. On the one hand, there is no doubt that some plants and animals no longer exist, and many others are on the verge of extinction. This has been termed as a really worrisome environmental challenge by some people, which has been brought about by the exploitation of their natural habitat and deforestation. In other words, forests and oceans are being raided by humans and natural resources are being taken and used for other purposes, thereby altering the ecosystem which is vital for the survival of these organisms. An example of this situation is the act of deforestation where many animals have been killed by predators because their homes and hiding places have been cut down. Hence, as much as this sounds like a great challenge to nature and society at large, I believe there are more vital issues which may be catastrophic if not acted upon. Of greater importance is the issue of environmental pollution with can affect human life and health. What this means is that due to having more cars, vehicles and industries, society is laden with toxic substances in the air and chemical wastes which causes a large number of diseases across the globe. Many hospitals are filled with patients with Lung-related asbestosis from the inhalation of these harmful gases and some lakes in India are now labelled as highly dangerous due to the disposal of chemical wastes into them. If these continued globally, then sooner or later, the earth would become inhabitable. To conclude, It is true that there are many endangered plant and animal species, however, whatever affects life such as environmental pollution, is of paramount importance and ought to be addressed as soon as possible.