Some of the method used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today society.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Undoubtedly, the era of television and digital media has given birth to different methodologies for advertising products and services to the public all over the world. Our perception of making a decision is being influenced by a variety of endorsements and in my opinion, socially targeted commercials should be considered unethical and banned. The objective of advertisement is to create an image of a product or service in society to provide a selling point. Although there exists a lot of different modes of advertisement, for instance, banners, pamphlets, newspapers, campaigns, and television, in recent years, we have seen a rise of digital media as a prominent source. For example, we get to see advertisements while reading a newspaper, watching a video on YouTube, listening to a podcast, or scrolling through Instagram. However, in contrast with commercials through other platforms, social media platforms are using personal data to incorrectly influence people into buying things that they don't actually intend to. Recently, Facebook was in the news for selling personal information to different product manufacturing companies to allow them a targeted approach to people. This causes an unethical breach of privacy while people are being brainwashed to make a decision of purchasing things that they don't desire. To summarize, social media is a boon to the upcoming generation in helping them to stay connected to their loved ones. Thus, I believe that it should not be used as a source of advertisement while harming the trust of people.