Some old people today struggle with the use of modern techonologies such as smartphones and computers. What is the cause of this? What are some possible solutions?

Without a doubt, the use of essential smart gadgets such as mobile phones and computers has become a complex skill that regularly causes problems for elderly people. Recent technological advances, mainly to enhance the graphical user interface, are passively increasing the complexity. However, it can be resolved by introducing a dedicated category of products with hardware and software with certain easy-to-operate aspects. Within the last 5 years, the innovation in silicon chips has enabled smartphones and laptops to provide a huge amount of processing power, including the capability to handle complex graphics-related processes. This has caused a problem for the older generation, which cannot use them for their daily activities. For example, social media applications such as Facebook, Snapchat, and Instagram have changed their visual aspects more than 100 times in the last couple of years. Manufacturing companies are now trying to use more images rather than words to perform certain tasks. Because of this, when an image that has been used for a significant period, gets changed on a smartphone, it causes immense trouble for users other than the young generation. However, the solution to this problem is really simple. In fact, it doesn't even require much investment in the software and hardware industries. If they produce cell phones and computers with a user interface that uses more words than images or icons, it would allow everyone to understand the usage of such products very easily. Take the example of the camera in a cell phone. All it takes is to provide a description of the application under the image in a more readable sense to alleviate this issue. Although it will not be an easy change and may not be welcomed by youngsters too quickly, manufacturers can simply provide an easy switch between these two different categories of digital devices to make both parties happy. In conclusion, smartphones and other essential gadgets have the purpose of reducing the efforts required to operate them and allowing the user to get the work done in the easiest way possible. The clutter caused by such device upgrades has caused a problem for older customers. But it is possible to resolve it without causing any huge economic burden by creating a separate set of products for them.