Some people believe that modern technology is increasing the gap between rich and poor people. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Technology plays a crucial role in our modern days. Whether technology exacerbates the inequality of people in society is an issue that gives rise to endless controversy. Some people claim that technology increases the difference between poor and rich people, while others think in the opposite direction. This essay will discuss both views. It seems to me that technology is not the reason for inequality; it has actually reduced the gap between wealth and poverty. There are many reasons why some people think that technology widens the gap between the rich and the poor. To begin with, new technologies have been introduced that might replace manual labour; hence, many workers, especially the poor, might lose their job and deal with unemployment because wealthy corporations favour using advanced technologies to reduce labour costs. Therefore, while the profits of the rich are rising, the poor are losing their job and becoming poorer. On the other hand, those who believe that technology is beneficial cite the following reasons. Firstly, technology creates more opportunities to approach knowledge due to its popularity. For instance, the Vietnamese government provides free wire access for its citizens to ensure everyone can acquire new information. Some technologies, namely communication and networking, allow deprived people to access online education or find a solution to solve their problems. As far as I am concerned, technology is not the reason for the increase in the gap between the wealthy and the needy. The real cause is the lack of regulation on new technologies, which makes their benefits hoarded by the rich. For example, no price control on life-saving medicine and the latest research make these medicines unaffordable for all but the affluent. The medicines, after price checking and controlling, not only save lives but also save the poor from falling into poverty. To sum up, although both opinions have implications, technology does not raise inequality; the root cause is the right to access technology. Government should take responsibility for controlling this problem.