In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of diverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages.

Industry 5.0 is a new phase of industrialisation, whereby humans work alongside advanced technologies and robotics. This also affects the transportation industry when it is quite possible for vehicles to be driverless in the future. There are some benefits from this situation, but I think there are also more drawbacks that may be harmful to road safety. First of all, the artificial intelligence can be beneficial for the public transportation industry in many ways. The human body has drawbacks since it needs sleep or rest after doing continuous work. Therefore, the substitution of a human driver with machinery might be effective in this industry, especially if it is a long journey. The companies may be benefited since they can cut off their expenses and get more profits, while the passengers can reach their destination faster. This substitution is also beneficial for people who are not capable of driving cars but has to go by themselves. For instance, people with disabilities can travel freely in their private vehicles. At present, it is difficult for them to travel from one place to another since not all public transportations are disabled-friendly. However, there are more visible disadvantages of driverless vehicles. Machinery may be effective and efficient, yet it also has greater risks of errors. For example, if the autopilot in cars suddenly bugs, it may cause a traffic accident and may be unsafety for the passengers. Other than that, if there are sudden changes in road conditions, the auto-machinery of the vehicles might not be available to detect it immediately. Thus, the supervision of humans is still needed in this practice. In conclusion, it could be a win-win situation if the use of auto machinery in vehicles is supervised by humans. After all, humans are the most intelligent creatures in the world.