The increasing presence of multinational companies and globalization is believed by some to have positive implications for everyone involved. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a growing tendency for globalized corporations. Some people harbour a belief that the phenomenon will bring advantages to people. I am inclined to stand neutrally with the statement since it provides multiple possibilities and results in competitive working environments in the meantime. A discussion of this issue as well as my thoughts will be highlighted in the write-up. Initially, one of the main arguments in its favour is that multinational companies cannot only recruit employees around the world but also have opportunities to learn diverse skills when collaborating with elites from different countries. Besides, interactions between multiple cultures and skills will broaden both employees’ and employers’ horizons and lead to improvements. Thus, globalization indeed has positive effects for everyone involved as knowledge will not be restricted to particular countries and people are able to know more about the variety of the world. At the other end of the spectrum, individuals may encounter a relatively challenging career market when competitors can be around the world and employers may face difficulties in management due to cultural differences. The more options that companies can choose, the more pressure that candidates have. When job markets are shared with foreigners, the rate of local unemployment will rise which will influence local citizens’ living levels. Moreover, managers may have to tackle conflicts because of cultural variations. According to the aforementioned, the demerits of globalization will trigger some counterproductive outcomes. To sum up, despite the fact that the phenomenon has some merits, its disadvantages cannot be ignored. As the trend is inevitable, people need to strengthen their abilities so as to embrace potential chances and overcome challenges.