In many countries, traditional values are increasingly eroded as societies embrace modernization and globalization. Some argue that this shift is beneficial, bringing about progress and improved living standards. Others, however, contend that it threatens the cultural fabric of communities and leads to the loss of important societal norms. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Society's progression and globalization are erasing traditional values. Many people believe that this is an advantage in terms of better living standards while some others think that it is a slippery slope towards loss of cultural identity and formalities. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of both sides. On one hand, social progression has many advantages for society such as better healthcare practices, education and economic growth. For example, when Singapore gained independence from Malaysia, it was quick to implement English as the first language and make it mandatory for its citizens to learn a second language like Chinese and Malaysian. As a result, the nation's linguistic ability enables them to conduct business with economic powerhouses like China and Britain and fellow developing countries like Malaysia and Indonesia. This greatly boosts Singapore's economic growth and rapid modernisation which also attracts foreign investors as it is easy to communicate with one another. Conversely, the drawback of such modern influence means that the local cultural fabric would shift to that of homogenization, causing the local population to lose its identity. Circling back to Singapore's adaptation of having its citizens learn only the main languages, most of the younger generation today no longer speak Chinese or Malay dialects and are far removed from their ethnic roots and culture. However, many distinct characteristics of this little nation are preserved in its local cuisine which is enjoyed by both locals and tourists alike. In conclusion, while it is important for a country's economic growth to adapt swiftly to modernization and globalization, in my opinion, it should not come at the expense of cultural identity.