Art classes such as painting or drawing are important for children s development so it should be compulsory in high school.Do you agree or disagree

It is widely argued that if art classes should be compulsory for pupils in schools or not. While I agree with the fact that it is necessary for the child's development, I also support the idea that this subject should be optional. To begin with, it's true that art classes have a positive influence on a child's development. Mostly referred to as, the complete development of the brain. For instance, classes like math, physics or science mainly impact logical development, while art subjects such as painting and drawing benefit the emotional intelligence of the kid. Furthermore, art classes may help to find future talents in these subjects. As a matter of fact, a friend of mine enjoyed drawing a lot in school and nowadays she completed her degree in design and continues to grow in this field. If those classes get cancelled, it will cause hidden talents to never be found. However, I disagree with the point that art classes should be mandatory in high schools for various reasons. Firstly, most universities except for designers or future artists, do not require these skills or academic hours in order to evaluate the knowledge of the student. If they must unwillingly join these classes, it would have a negative effect on their academic results. Secondly, most of the time these classes cause a waste of time, which alternatively could be used on studying the main subject. For example, my elder niece always came tired from art classes and tried to convince her little sister to draw her homework assignment. To conclude, I recognise that children's development benefits from art classes, nevertheless it seems to me that art subjects should only be voluntary subjects.