Young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults . do you agree or diagree?

There is a constant debate as to the nature of the penalty for teenagers and grownups who committed similar offences. While some individuals believe that they should be dealt with equally, others think of cutting some slack in children. The current essay disagrees with the notion that the two populations should be sacked equally based on the following reasons. Firstly, youngsters are often misled to do wrong and could be brought to the correct path by proper guidance. Whereas, older individuals tend to engage in premeditated criminal acts which do not leave much space for correction. Secondly, the populace at a tender age has more time to change the course of their lives for betterment. In contrast, senior citizens have reached their end and resolved. Similarly, the aforementioned differences warrant differing approaches to punishment among them. Children are swiftly misinformed and pawned to carry out bad deeds by others. By and large, they could be coached back to shape. Conversely, the same cannot be applied to older persons as they premeditate to make the wrong decision. Asan example, a child with financial constraints was persuaded with a wad of cash to become a drug dealing underdog by a drug boss. But, he ended up acquiring a college degree when he was provided with proper support and care in a foster home. Whereas, the drug boss was constantly in and out of the prison for similar offensive acts. This proves the fact that younger citizens are amenable to rehabilitation while older groups need more solid sentencing. Furthermore, children are yet to select their way of living,unlike the seniors who are set in their way of life. For example, a boy who came out of a correction facility for burglary was relocated to a better neighbourhood. Along with the changes in his lifestyle he started to play basketball teaching the national team. The story indicates the possibility of positive development in young criminals when given a second chance. In summary, youngsters are mostly misled to perform wrongful acts leaving the odds for repentance compared to the adults who indulge in well-planned wrongdoings. Based on differences in the means and purpose of offence, it is logical to consider punishment for young and old differently. Therefore, the essay strongly opposes equal punishment in similar offences between the two categories.