the internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is generally agreed that in recent times, technological advancement has changed the way of social interaction. Social media did bring a change in the world of communication, Although a few people support this development, there are others who do not. However, I consider this a positive innovation. To commence with, social networking platforms have blessed us with many good things and interacting with the community has become quite easier. To illustrate further, there are a surplus number of applications such as Facebook, WhatsApp, Instagram etcetera through which masses can talk, video call and share pictures easily, even if they are in another part of the world. To quote an example from my experience, when I was a kid I had to wait at least 6 months to see my grandparents, who lived in another city, while now I facetime them quite often. Consequently, this enhances family ties and strengthens the bond. Hence this is considered to be a positive reflection. On the other hand, there are few folks who quite often claim that web networking sites have a negative impact on society. They might believe that social media is seeking a lot of attention from people of all age groups, as it consumes a major amount of time and energy on a day-to-day basis.Take for instance, in Canada a recent survey report from apple showed that on average people at least spend 4 hrs on social media. Not undermining, the demerits of these networking applications, I believe that these can be tackled if one is cautious. To conclude, for the aforementioned reasons I strongly agree that social media can be very beneficial provided, if we use them for good usage can help people to be connected to their families, and friends and grow in their careers as well.