Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not the local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract more local people to these museums?

While these museums and historical sites are ubiquitous attractions that draw streams of foreign visitors, they go largely ignored by local people. This trend is driven by several factors and some viable solutions can be implemented to boost local people's attendance at historical attractions. There are two compelling reasons as to the waning popularity of museums and historical relics among local residents. First and foremost, humans naturally take slightly the things that they have ready access to. Take the Ho Chi Minh mausoleum for a locally relevant example. It is unlikely that any of Hanoi's residents haven't come across the building and the generous campus that surrounds it, yet few have taken the effort to enter and admire what's inside. On the other hand, the daily queue in front of the mausoleum is more often than not comprised of people from different parts of the country and foreigners. In addition to this, the lack of appeal of museums and historical places is also to blame. Subpar hygiene and poor arrangements inside these buildings are among many consequences caused by a modest budget for conservation. Fortunately, several feasible solutions can be taken to revive the interest of local people in their city's museums and historical sites. Firstly, more funding should be dedicated to the restoration of these places. While damages and imperfections caused by wars can be seen as charms, certain sanitary standards should be adhered to in order to ensure a pleasant experience for visitors. Secondly, artefacts and items curated in museums and historical locations should be arranged in such a way that is appealing to the younger audience. A youthful revamp in lieu of the traditional stiff and serene atmosphere will go a long way in getting young children as well as teenagers excited to learn more about the rich history and heritage that museums and heritage sites offer. In conclusion, the poor attendance rate of local visitors at historical attractions may stem from various underlying factors, and the proposed solutions can be executed to reverse the trend.