In some counties more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or the building they live in What are the reasons for this ? How can people research this ?

In recent years, people are keen to research the previous history of the buildings or houses that they occupy. In this essay, I will write about the driving causes of this trend and the means people can use to achieve this goal. First of all, researching the buildings allows us to know the cultural and historical values of a place. For instance, the fort at the top of the mountain can tell us a lot about the previous fighters who used it to protect themselves and to peek at enemies during war. Buildings that are built tall and slim signify the shortage of land in the area at certain times in the past. Knowing all these enrich our experiences and aids in finding our identities. Furthermore, it creates a sense of belonging among the members of society. People would naturally want to protect and preserve these commodities so the young ones can benefit from them in future. There are many methods to gain information, and one of the easiest ways is via the Internet. Nowadays, we can obtain vast data instantly via search engines such as Google and Internat Explorer, usually without any charges. Besides, asking the older generation is a great way to know the past as they experienced them first -hand. Other than that, reading books is another valuable and enjoyable way to gain knowledge on historical and architectural aspects of a building. In conclusion, looking into history not only creates a sense of belonging and helps us to reinforce our identities, but it is also a pleasant pastime. Moreover, we will appreciate the cultural beauties and respect the sacrifices the previous generations had done for us. Reading books, researching on the Internet and talking to the elderly are a few methods that people can utilise to understand our past better.