Some people prefer to provide help and support directly to those in need. Others however prefer to give money to national and international charitable organisations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

As a citizen in a developing country and a staff in a non-profit organization working on the social issue in Thailand, I have realized donating directly to communities in need is as essential as providing it through national or international foundations. Both ways have different advantages and drawbacks. Having encountered homeless people or those suffering from poverty is a heart-broken feeling. Some might offer immediate help by giving small money, food, or any useful supplies to them directly. The advantages are the communities in need undoubtedly received your support right away. Therefore, they can survive and continue their lives at least for a while. However, what will happen if tangible assistance like food or money is gone? Then, they inevitably have to be back to the underprivileged cycle again. Donating to charitable organizations directly works in different ways. Your financial aid are not handed to the beneficiaries right away, but it will be offered to organizations consisting of a full team of experts, and field staff who are experienced in managing social issues. As a result, they can conduct interventions appropriate to the situation. For example, my foundation working on economic empowerment do not solely provide financial grants to unemployed folk, but also conduct career development training or host job fair event to connect employers with prospective employees. From the research and my personal experience, this is a more sustainable solution rather than just providing money. However, there are some drawbacks as well. For example, this type of intervention needs time and may not be suitable for those who need immediate help. Also, some donations must be deducted for indirect costs including administrative fees or staff salaries, hence, the budget available for the beneficiaries is appear less. In conclusion, these humanitarian acts either through organizations or directly to the underprivileged are essential. The social project is more sustainable in long-term solutions and prevention; however, not every case can wait.