Some people think that traditional culture can be destroyed as money-making attractions to tourists. However, others believe that it is the only way to save traditions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been an ongoing debate about whether heritage should be used to promote touristry. For some, these actions could completely demolish a country’s historical values while others strongly believe in their profitable outcomes. For me, suitable usages of traditional tourism may bring about more benefits than harms. In terms of the controversial debate, one of the most mentioned problems is cultural appropriation, which is defined as the acts of using symbols or other types of traditional rituals inappropriately. Due to the lack of research, people can create some situations which can be seen as disrespectful to another country’s virtues. For instance, some people have overexploited the headpieces and outfits of the Native Americans in movies, festivals and parties without acknowledging the actual history behind them. Those objects hold a significant meaning to the Native Americans, both spiritually and historically. Therefore, a wave of protest emerged since these folk want to protect their traditional costumes from being misused. On the other hand, supportive ideas have pointed out many positive sides of developing traditional travel, such as raising awareness and installing precious rituals into modern lives. To explain further, by practising historical routines frequently, the population can learn and understand well their own country’s history and background story so they know what they should and should not do in order to cherish, support and enrich their culture. One of these practices is celebrating traditional festivals, for example, the Tet holiday in Viet Nam. This holiday is a wonderful opportunity for Vietnamese young adults to learn about family values and how to appreciate great habits by anticipating activities, ceremonies, fashion and culinary. In terms of my personal opinion, cultural influence tourism is beneficial for a nation’s economy, more specifically, interesting holidays can attract a major number of tourists, who bring along financial contributions to the country that they visit. One of the most famous holidays is the Hindu festival Holi which is also known as the Color Festival. This festival attracts a great flow of tourists and plays an important part in India’s annual earnings. In conclusion, using traditions as a money-making tool poses some threats like inappropriate adaptations, which lead to the loss of precious values. However, believers have stated some noticeable positive points like educating the public about history as well as valuable beliefs. I personally support the second idea and also believe that promoting traditions alongside tourism can have certain great effects on the economy.