Many people agree that free public transportation should be available in most major cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this idea?

It is considered by many people that transit should be provided at zero cost to all citizens,especially in metro cities. Nevertheless, there are some problems associated with it. The below essay will highlight the pros and cons of the given idea. To begin with, there are a plethora of merits of providing complimentary transport to its citizens. The first and foremost advantage is free transport will encourage the majority of commuters to travel by public travel other than using their own automobile. This will not only reduce air pollution, but it will also further result in less traffic congestion on road. To give a clear example, in 2022 Malta become the latest European country to provide free of cost transportation to all its residents to promote the idea of a better transportation system in the world and to solve the problem of traffic congestion on roads. Secondly, it's cost-saving as commuters don't need to spend money buying their own private cab. Along with money-saving purposes, it will also consequence in an increase in productivity among travellers. As they don't need to waste their efforts driving a automobile, they can utilize the same time reading a book/ newspaper or listening to a podcast. Hence there are a lot of benefits to offering a free ride to travellers. On the other side, free mass transport also has disadvantages. Firstly, all the burden will be on the ministry of transportation. Providing zero-cost transport is not as easy as saying, as along with providing free transport, the government has to provide timely maintenance to vehicles, if unable to give maintenance on time, it will affect the quality as well as reliability of machinery. which as a outcome will encourage discomfort to the citizens or travellers. Therefore, they will rather prefer their own vehicle than taking a free ride with discomfort. Furthermore, travelling in free-mass transport, they have to compromise their privacy as well. as everyone travelling in free-of-charge travel, these buses going to be crowded and there is going be less personal space. As a conclusion, Rider going to be neither comfortable nor have more personal space. That will encourage the idea of owning a private vehicle than using fare-free transportation. In conclusion, i will reiterate my position by saying that giving access to complimentary transportation will not only bring positive effects such as fewer traffic jams and time-saving, but it will also bring some demerits such as discomfort and lack of privacy in public travel.