The number of old people is increasing in many countries. Some people think this causes problems, while others think old people play an important role. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people argue that many countries might have problems with an increasing number of elderly people, while others believe that elder people have a major role in society. In my view, even though nations can have numerous issues due to this transition, I agree that the older generation plays an essential role in communities. The main issue is that the increasing aging population can affect the pension and healthcare system in a negative way. While the government needs to provide more support in the financial and medical sectors. For instance, more financial expenditure will be put into the construction of hospitals and old-age care centers, consequently, a lower portion of public funds can spend on other fields, such as education, environment protection, and public transportation. Additionally, healthy elder people who could still work in their original position, in other words, lead to youngsters gaining fewer opportunities. However, on the other hand, the old generation often act as the backbone of society and family as a while. To commence with, for society, old people means wealthy experience, which could help youngster to make decision based on their professional advice. For example, in China, the most outstanding medical and advanced technology experts are over 70 years old. Meanwhile, for families, whereas parents are busy in earning money, grandparents are the ones who always take care of their grandchildren, which is not only ease the pressure of working adults but also develop traditional values to make elders enjoying the joy of family. In conclusion, although increasing life expectancy can cause a financial burden to the government, I believe that the elder is an important part of society and our families because they can guide the youngster with their experience and look after children.