Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Plastic -based wastes are becoming an increasing issue in the world. It argues that materials that have been produced by using plastics are harmful to nature. The main reason for this is that plastic does not resolve in the environment in a short term and pollutes the soil and oceans and viable solutions are to raise public awareness and change our daily habits. Plastic products are one of the major wastes that the world produces. It takes more than 5000 years to dissolve if it is dumped into the ground. Undoubtedly, it diminishes the efficiency of the soil and contaminates them with unnatural substances. Besides, it takes longer to dissolve in oceans when it is compared to soil. Furthermore, even experts can not make any assumptions about the dissolution time frame of these. Sadly, these plastic wastes kill our oceans by reducing the species in there and they also lessen the population of corals. For instance, according to the essay that I read last year, in the next five,years 5 million hectares of agricultural fields will be unusable just because of that plastic waste. On the other hand, we are still able to undo the effects of those. The best thing to do is raise the awareness of the public and show how their offspring will be affected in the future. Individuals can also take some measurements like switching from using a plastic bottle to a glass bottle or they can consider buying products which contain recycled materials. For example, thanks to improvements in technology, even clothes and shoes are producible by using waste materials. They only contain 30% of recycled matter at most but it is something it definitely would contribute to the health of the earth. To conclude, plastic -based product wastes’ are killing our planet. Luckily we are still at the irreversible point, therefore, before it is too late both authorities and residents of the earth should do whatever is required.