Crime is a big problem in the world; many believe that nothing ca be done to prevent it. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

Crime is unquestionably a prevailing and worrying aspect in any society, and its prevention should be taken seriously. Crime prevention can be executed in various ways, firstly through a sustained honest presence in the community and secondly through international cooperation. A local presence by incorruptible law enforcement authorities may be costly, however, the long-term investment would pay dividends in the future, however, the long-term investment would pay dividends in the future. A safer region would encourage trade, and investment and set an invaluable example for younger generations For example, crime has dramatically been reduced in the Favelas around Rio de Janeiro in Brazil. This was achieved largely through the government committing large funds of money to station police headquarters in and around the slums. These financial expenditures greatly benefited the community. Secondly, due to the large-scale severity and the global impact that crime has in some areas of the world, global cooperation is critical. Operating in a different way would incur significant financial losses and render any expenditure futile. For example, Somalian pirates in Africa have reigned terror amongst many ocean transport companies in the area. Only through large-scale international cooperation was policing the area possible. Therefore, crime reduction can be attributed to a join effort between countries. To conclude, illegal activities are a costly and dangerous fact in the present global economy, however, through large-scale government investment prevention is an attainable goal. Also, by spreading the expense through international cooperation the resources invested can be significantly more effective in reducing criminals’ effectiveness abroad.