The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge and experience.

Road safety is now becoming a topic of concern. Each people have different views on how to improve road safety. While many people agree that give much stricter punishments on driving offenses is a good method, I strongly disagree that this is the only measure because there are alternative ways which are effective and need taking into account. On the one hand, it is true that harsher penalties may discourage drivers from operating a vehicle recklessly or carefully. However, there are numerous causes of road accidents, such as poor infrastructure or environmental variables like fog, rain, or snow. The most frequent reason for traffic accidents is due to students' lack of awareness and knowledge of the rules of the road. Therefore, ensuring traffic safety is not necessary regardless of how much a fine is. On the other hand, I think there are a number of steps that can successfully increase road safety. First, rather than raising fines, the federal, state, and municipal governments should fund road repairs and infrastructure improvements like traffic lights and signs. Second, on busy or frequently congested highways, the authorities can install traffic cameras or boost the number of traffic enforcement officers. This, consequently, could raise the awareness of people about the need to follow the speed limits and traffic rules. In order to lessen the number of accidents brought on by mechanical issues or unlicensed drivers, it is also advisable to undergo routine vehicle inspections. To train people who can observe road safety laws, we also need to strictly regulate and increase the number of driving examinations. The most crucial issue, and particularly for teens who are more inclined to breach the law, is that people receive greater education about the value of road safety. In conclusion, I would affirm that this situation does not necessarily call for harsh sanctions. To avoid unexpected consequences, everyone should be responsible and knowledgeable of traffic safety.