Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? High schools should allow students to study the courses that students want to study. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Choosing a domain of study at the high school level is a tough decision. Many students are quite clear about their aim in life while others still wonder and are still in the thinking mode of deciding a career pathway. I firmly believe that adolescents at this school level should be permitted to select the area of study of their choice. This is because, these studies will keep them motivated and help them to achieve success with passion. First and foremost, the youth at this age is a mature individual and can make a clear distinction between his strengths and weaknesses. Considering this, he has the ability to fulfill his dream by making the correct choice which is selecting the appropriate course of study. Schools should therefore give a free hand to the youngsters, by not only providing varied options but also conducting career workshops, so that these young children are at ease to follow their desired path. Such guidance encourages them to get going and instils confidence by knowing the career opportunities ahead. For instance, a child who is good at academics in science subjects may desire to become a doctor in future. He is confused if he could achieve this level. So, career counselling sessions from expert individuals would give him direction through detailed information, pros and cons, and eventually make it easier for him to decide on his future studies. On the other hand, if a youngster is forced to study a course in which he lacks interest, it can prove disastrous for both the learner and the society at large. A recent study by Delhi University revealed that 40% of students who are pushed to study subjects which are not of their liking, do not even graduate from University. They fail incessantly and consequently bear the tag of a drop-out. To avoid this situation, it is wise for high schools to let teenagers choose their future field of study. In conclusion, parents and educators should offer a helping hand to students by allowing them to choose their preferred course. A motivated child is ambitious to attain his goals as compared to an individual who is forced to pursue a course he never had an interest in. I personally agree with the notion of allowing a student to follow his dreams by selecting the appropriate course for himself.