Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinionp.

With an ongoing debate about the benefits of studying a foreign language, some strongly believe that it is simply for the benefit of travelling or working overseas, while others insist that there are other advantages related to domestic work productivity and personal hobbies. While I am personally in favour of the latter view, this essay will demonstrate both views with supporting rationales. Obviously, comprehending another language brings numerous opportunities for career advancement and overseas trips. The ability to use a local language at even a quite basic level could make foreign trips much less stressful and more enjoyable. If a visitor is able to approach local residents and ask some basic questions, for example, ask where the restroom is and get recommendations for popular restaurants, he or she will find the entire overseas experience easy and comfortable, with the ability to communicate with locals and even exchange thoughts. Furthermore, professionals fluent in multiple languages usually have greater advantages in searching for overseas jobs, as they can enter foreign job markets without a language barrier. For instance, Indians who are masters of English often apply for jobs in English-speaking countries such as Canada and the US online, because employers in developed countries are willing to pay substantially higher to employees. Therefore, candidates proficient in other languages can easily compete in overseas markets, especially with the rising trend of remote working, which allows them to live with their families domestically while earning a great amount of foreign income. However, there are other significant benefits of foreign language learning that cannot be ignored. Firstly, domestic employees can greatly boost their productivity and work performance if they know a commonly-used language well. Researchers and scholars who often read global research papers to understand the latest trend in technology can work more efficiently if they can read the original paper instead of translated documents. Moreover, by understanding another language, they are taking their first steps in cooperating with foreign peers and attending international, scholar meetings. Additionally, individuals who comprehend other languages can read foreign literature and listen to exotic music, which allows them to extend their hobbies in reading and music even further. In conclusion, while studying a second language undoubtedly provides basic benefits for foreign employment and overseas tourism, I believe there are way more benefits presented in mastering another language to enrich personal life and boost productivity, regardless of where we live.