Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Environmental problems are increasingly affecting human societies. Some believe that the extinction of certain species should be blamed for deteriorating the environment while others do not think so. In this essay, I am going to review both sides to draw a conclusion. To begin with, there is no denying that the loss of species causes environmental problems. In other words, some animals and plants are dying out, hence damaging the biological diversity of our environment, which makes it the most pressing issue of all. Take the giant panda for example. Without human interference, they would have gone extinct decades ago. Consequently, it would have been a great loss to our existing gene pool. In addition, the phenomenon itself reflects how severe the environment has become. If the living conditions for the giant panda are good enough with sufficient habitat and ample forests, they would have stayed prosperous. On the other hand, however, some people believe there are more serious threats to our survival than the loss of species. In fact, human activities may have a much bigger role to play in this regard. For instance, along with urban expansion, car exhaust and other greenhouse gases are contributing to global warming whereas the need to build more commercial properties leads to deforestation. Therefore, it is fair to say that many environmental issues are caused by human activities. To conclude, the extinction of many species poses a major threat to our environment, but other factors are also contributing to a worsening environment. In my view, it is unnecessary to rank the factors contributing to the environment because they are all equally important and closely related to one another.