Some people think that the increasing use of computer and mobile phones nowadays has unwanted effects on the young people reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is argued that the increase in the usage of computers and mobile phones has an adverse impact on the reading and writing skills of youngsters. I, firmly agree, with this statement as it diminishes the traditional way of writing and leaves a detrimental impact on their health. To commence with, the increment in the use of electronic devices for reading and writing has adversely impacted the youth. Firstly, it allows them to get away from the traditional way of writing and reading, which ultimately leads to the extinction of their handwriting skills. For instance, several grammar correction applications such as Grammarly, provide auto-correction services and make youngsters not recognise their mistakes. Hence, this stance ultimately leads to weakening their reading and writing skills. Furthermore, the use of technology for reading has negatively impacted the health. The availability of e-books enables youth to utilise numerous hours using computers and mobile phones, which tends to have an adverse impact on their physical and mental health. For example, the use of the technological app Kindle allows people to access books anytime and anywhere, which leads to an increase in screen time. This option results in weakening their eyesight, giving birth to Myopia, an eye disease, poor living style and physical health, which leaves a long-lasting impact on the youth at an early age of life. In conclusion, although the advancement of technology has brought changes in reading and writing, I strongly believe, it impacts their eyesight and gives birth to a sedentary lifestyle while diminishing the tradition of handwriting.