Fewer and fewer peoplewalk on a daily basis. What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time

Recently, a decreasing number of communities have been inclined to have a walk-in everyday life. This essay aims to clarify the possible reason for this phenomenon as well as to suggest ways of addressing it. Firstly, amongst several reasons associated with a growing unwillingness to take a walk, the most significant of which is wasting time. Nowadays, the public become busier and busier; hence they have to optimize the time allocated for moving. They prefer using escalators or elevators over stairs in buildings or driving cars to walk to their workplace because they feel unnecessary to waste time travelling. Furthermore, the longer and longer distance which we have to move every day have compounded the problem. In the past, people tend to accept jobs which are near their whereabouts while working 20 kilometres and more away or in a different city is not an uncommon thing nowadays. For example, my colleague who lives in Binh Duong province must travel 100 kilometres every day by motorbike to work in Hochiminh city. In order to promote walking, there are some feasible solutions to be adopted. The most practical solution would be to encourage people to use stairs instead of those technological applications which support travelling. Moreover, the company leaders should implement some incentives such as bonuses or gifts in order to promote the benefits of walking. Another solution might be recommending that authorities should raise the community’s awareness about the importance of walking as well as build more infrastructure for pedestrians. In conclusion, the above-mentioned facts illustrate why people dislike walking. However, I am agreed that the measures suggested above would encourage more and more communities to walk.