Some people believe the large shopping malls are replacing local shops which is bad for local economies. What is your opinion?

For a long time, small businesses have been struggling due to the on-going expansion of large companies to every corner and every street. This change has also touched local shops as they have been taken-over by shopping centers. However, is this a good change? In this essay, I will illustare why it is better for large companies to take the place of local shops. Firstly, shopping centers have become a hub for everyone's needs. It is no secret that shopping malls attarct many consumers with different needs and preferances. If you need a variaty of ingrediants, drinks, cooking tools, clothes, perfumes, and more, you will find them in the shopping mall. Local economies thrive on consumer spending. Therefore, providing the buyer with many options at one place, allows them to purchase more items. In contrast, This luxury can not be afforeded by local shops which specialize in one aspect. Hence, people will always gravitate towards the more convenient option which is the large shopping centers. Another reason is job creation. Large malls hire a great number of people to tailor to the needs of their customers. These jobs include but are not limited to customer service, cashires cashier, janitors, and security personnel. Economies are based on spending power, and the best way to increase the spending power is by giving people salaries to spend. Contrasingly, small shops hire a scarce number of employees to help the buyers. This results in high number of unemployment. To sum up, although shopping centers and small shops have their advantages and disadvantages, I believe that shopping malls should displace local shops for the sake of the economy. Economies prosper on selling goods to the largest number of people possible, and the shopping malls is best way to achieve that.