In many countries mobile phones have become a normal part of daily life

In many countries mobile phones have become a normal part of daily life for almost everyone, from professionals such as doctors and lawyers to young children, some people however would like to see ownership restricted because of the possible risks these phones pose to our health and the negative impact they are already having on society. But should such restrictions be imposed? There are some persuasive arguments in favour of restricting ownership. Firstly, radio wave emissions from mobile phones are known to affect brain activity and some scientists are worried about the effects that these may have on the health of children who use such phones. It is claimed that fewer people would be exposed to risks if restrictions would be introduced. Furthermore, it is generally agreed that such measures would reduce the number of a traffic accidents caused by people talking on their mobile phones. There is also social impact to consider. It is now common for a concert, a theatrical performance or even quiet meal in a restaurant to be disrupted by an inconsiderate mobile phone user. It is sometimes said that none of the worlds would be the case if the government restricted ownership to professional use only. On the other hand, there are strong arguments against these measures, firstly it is widely believed that mobile phones are indispensable in the case of accidents or the protection they offer., Secondly it is argued that, if phone companies did more to raise public awareness of the risks posed by radio phone emissions, people would only make a short calls from their phones and these risks would then be reduced. Finally, it is often pointed out that there will always be a minority of inconsiderate people and that restrictions on ownership would unfairly penalise the majority of considerate users. To sum up, I believe that some restrictions on ownership to protect young people ’s health would probably be a good thing. However, adults should have the right to use a mobile phones if they wish, for both personal and professional purposes.