In some countries, there is not enough recycling of waste materials (e.g. paper, glass and cans). What are the reasons and solutions?

In modern society, people are generally faced with more energy problems than ever before, especially with renewable materials such as paper, glass and cans. These products can be reused, however, the recycling rate is still very low. This topic can be explored further in several ways, and there are actions we can take. Before I embark on the solutions, there are some reasons behind this phenomenon. On the one hand, society, especially in western countries, has been asked to sort their rubbish according to different rules. However, a lot of people did not obey these rules strictly, turns out many wastes are not able to be reproduced. For example, the paper has been polluted by oil or glass thrown in regular bins. And these rules are different from each other, even in the same country. As a result, the authority has to spend more to resort to these wastes, which waste a lot of labour, time, and money. On the other hand, there are not enough motivations for companies to use these materials. Most of the existing manufacturers still use raw materials instead of renewed ones. That may be because they do not have the technology to handle these things, or the progress costs too much. Based on these reasons, there are some solutions. First, there should be more superiority in sorting rubbish, or more activities to teach the community the importance of the garbage category. Let the community have an awareness of recycling. The governments can give out some financial incentives to encourage society to perform better. Second, factories that use more renewable sources can get funds. For example, some stationery companies make their products with used plastics. Finally, more research and innovation should be stimulated. The most effective way to encourage the crowd to use recycling data is to improve the technology and make it profitable. In conclusion, there are many aspects related to this topic, and we should take more action and think deeper.